Off the Page by Jodi Picoult and Samantha van Leer Review

Wednesday, 10 June 2015
Off the Page (Between the Lines #2), by Jodi Picoult and Samantha van Leer
Publication: May 19, 2015, by Delacorte Press
Genre: Young Adult Fiction, Contemporary, Romance, Fantasy
Pages: 356
Format: Hardcover
Source: Borrowed
Rating: ½

From #1 New York Times bestselling authors Jodi Picoult and her daughter and co-writer, Samantha van Leer, comes OFF THE PAGE, a tender and appealing romantic YA novel filled with humor, adventure, and magical relationships. Sixteen-year-old Delilah is finally united with Oliver—a prince literally taken from the pages of a fairy tale. There are, however, complications now that Oliver has been able to enter the real world. To exist in Delilah’s world, Oliver must take the place of a regular boy. Enter Edgar, who agrees to take Oliver’s role in Delilah’s favorite book. In this multilayered universe, the line between what is on the page and what is possible is blurred, but all must be resolved for the characters to live happily ever after. Includes twelve full-color illustrations, and black-and-white decorations throughout. Full of humor and witty commentary about life, OFF THE PAGE is a stand-alone novel as well as a companion to the authors’ bestseller Between the Lines, and is perfect for readers looking for a fairytale ending. Fans of Sarah Dessen and Meg Cabot are sure to appreciate this novel about love, romance, and relationships.

When you wish upon a star... Jodi Picoult and her daughter will grant you this... Even if you're upset and dislike the prince. *sings it in the Pinocchio tune* Ew. Sorry for my gross rhyming skills, but I feel that this is the only best way to start off this dazzling review. I FEEL LIKE I'VE BEEN WAITING FOR THIS BEAUTY FOR FOREVER AND NOW I FINALLY HAVE IT IN MY HANDS... and will have to return it back to the library. Ugh.

Please excuse my drowsiness, but if you actually see the size of this beauty and realize how long it's actually going to take you to read, you'll feel exhausted as well. It's almost 400 pages of whirlwinds, romance and fantasy all mixed in together with a twist, a storybook tale. I mean, if you haven't read the first book already by now, then you're seriously missing out on a ton and I bet that your life has just flashed from your eyes. But you obviously have that feeling in your heart, knowing that this book was written for you pleasantly and most awesomely.

"But without a reader, a story is only half complete. It's like blueprints that never get built; like a swimming pool without water. The foundation's there, but it's useless. Without a reader, the words just sit on the page, waiting to come alive in someone's imagination." (Hardcover, page 38)

Bam. If I actually knew how good this would continue to be, and how much I would enjoy it by the end, then I would've waited to read this. I ONLY HAVE SEVEN DAYS TO READ IT FROM THE LIBRARY WITHOUT A RENEWAL AND I'M LEAVING IN TWO DAYS, SO I HAD TO READ IT QUICKLY WITHOUT ANY QUESTIONS ASKED. Ugh. Don't you hate being forced to read something in a matter of time? I get you if you're thinking the same thing as me. Haha.

So what does this beauty turn to afterwards? A gracious thing. It all starts off from where Jodi and Samantha left us off with. Now, Delilah and Oliver are finally together without any issues... for now. But the happiness is all put to an end when they realize that Oliver will need to learn how to act like a regular teenage boy, and all falls out when their relationship is put at stake. But hey, they may have a fairytale ending, right?

But the thing is, our two fabulous co-authors are so awesome at making sure that we are convinced to read this. Firstly, it came out of nowhere and I literally cried when I spotted it at the library, and the COVER IS PERFECT. It matches (unlike the first book), the book itself has three multiple points of view and are all written in different font colours. AGH. YES. WOOT. What more can readers seriously ask for other than pretty fonts? *dreams a nice dream of rainbows and unicorns* There's so much to this whole book, and I want to include each and every single reader as part of this wonderful way of reading young adult literature.

You know, I'm a firm believer in duologies. I'm thinking that this series will be one, (obviously) since all of our questions and answered now, and it's a cute, happy ending. What more can we possibly ask for? Not much. Something was missing from the whole plot in the first book, and all of the bits and pieces that were needed there were in here, though there were some strange sightings coming from me. 

"I'm scared, Oliver. I'm scared the sun is going to go down and you're going to realize you want to go home.' I frame her face in my hands, looking into her eyes. "I am home," I tell her." (Hardcover, page 55) 

I'll get to the weaknesses in a little while, kay? *nods head* Off the Page's cast and characters were as dazzling as ever. The authors added the same touch and perfection into them as they had in the first book, which made your Momma Reader over here slash judger *points to self* very happy and excited. Delilah had that inner-confidence and independence that she had in the first book, while Oliver was charming and full of humour. Seeing a zipper zip up and down was the funniest and utterly strangest thing for him, alongside the many other moments and events that left me thinking about how our society is known to understand so many things while some (like him) may not. Aww times ten.

And then how can we possibly forget about Edgar and his wonderful author-mother? They're the soul and key of this series, and without them, there'd be no Between the Lines. Did I mention that Picoult and van Leer added real-life scenarios and tragedies into the plot that seem to strike thousands of individuals daily? As well as the obvious themes of love, family and belonging, there are many sparks found that give me the chills when I think about them. It was just so cute.

What did give me the feeling to deduct .5 of a rating was that this certainly isn't a favourite. It was fantastic, but the authors hadn't given me the chance to build up all of that love inside of me and squeal a million times. Maybe it was the emotions and thoughts put into this? Maybe it was the romance and love between Delilah and Oliver that somehow scarred me? Maybe I'm just some ordinary jealous fangirl? There's a ton of possibilities, and I'm just letting you know that every single individual is going to gain another thought process and opinion differently. I'm just saying this. 

From the start to finish, I feel that this was a complex story that actually and most definitely grew in my heart. Even after closing the spine, hearing the crackling sound, my heart still longs for Delilah and Oliver, two wondrous characters who resemble so many different personalities of people I know today, that I can just relate to them instantly. Get ready for: drama, love, forbidden romance, magic and dogs making wishes. I'M SERIOUS. You will love Off the Page, I know it!

What are your favourite magic-contemporary reads?

No comments :

Post a Comment

I love comments, I always read them, they always make my day and help me improve my posts. Thank you!