Five Summers, by Una LaMarche

Monday, 10 March 2014





Five Summers,  by Una LaMarche

Genre: Young Adult Fiction, Chick-lit

Rating: 4/5 stars











Goodreads Summary: "Four best friends, five summers of camp memories. 

The summer we were nine: Emma was branded “Skylar’s friend Emma” by the infamous Adam Loring...
The summer we were ten: Maddie realized she was too far into her lies to think about telling the truth...
The summer we were eleven: Johanna totally freaked out during her first game of Spin the Bottle...
The summer we were twelve: Skylar’s love letters from her boyfriend back home were exciting to all of us—except Skylar...
Our last summer together: Emma and Adam almost kissed. Jo found out Maddie’s secret. Skylar did something unthinkable... and whether we knew it then or not, five summers of friendship began to fall apart. 

Three years after the fateful last night of camp, the four of us are coming back to camp for reunion weekend—and for a second chance. Bittersweet, funny, and achingly honest, Five Summers is a story of friendship, love, and growing up that is perfect for fans of Anne Brashares and Judy Blume's Summer Sisters."



Review:


  • The last time I've read a chick-lit book about summer camp was when I was 11, so it's been a while. I love these type of books! The romance is absolutely adorable, and whatever happens in the camp, stays in the camp. 
  • This has definitely showed us how important friendship really is. Johanna, Maddie, Emma and Skylar were all amazing characters. I had my favourite, Jo, but the book obviously would be nothing without them. This was so girly and I loved each and every one of their stories and secrets! The whole book was bittersweet!
  • There was so much drama, I loved it! You will never get bored in this book because its absolutely sweet and the perfect summer read. There really was no plot twists, so that's what I wish that would be added or changed. 
  • The romance wasn't anything too special, but it was pretty good. I wouldn't say that the romance was the biggest thing that everyone relied on, but it was there. EMMA + ADAM FOR LIFE!
  • I love the way Una LaMarche wrote everything, it was so simplistic and soothing. <3 I just feel like I need more, I almost didn't want it to end!

No comments :

Post a Comment

I love comments, I always read them, they always make my day and help me improve my posts. Thank you!